Desktop & web

Archiving a team in the desktop app

Last updated on January 26, 2022

Table of contents

If you’d like to deactivate a team without the permanence of fully deleting it from the app, you may choose to archive that team instead. Archiving a team ensures that you can bring the team back at any time and fully retain that team’s conversation history. 
 
Note: Only the team admins can archive a team.

Archiving a team for desktop and web

  1. Navigate to Message via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Hover over the team you’d like to archive and select the More icon that appears at far right.
  3. Select Open team profile from the dropdown menu to open the team’s profile.
  4. Click on the Team admin settings tab.
  5. Select the Archive team text at the bottom of the window.

Restoring an archived team

  1. Navigate to Contacts via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Click on the Archived teams tab via the left pane.
  3. Hover over the archived team you’d like to restore and click the Restore button at far right.
Once the team is restored, the app will add that team back to your conversation list in Message.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.