Desktop & web

Managing your company contacts in the app desktop and web 

Last updated on February 04, 2022

Table of contents

You can view your company’s app contacts via the Contacts menu in the left-hand navigation bar. 
RingCentral app Contacts
Here, you can:
  • Search for contacts
  • View the status of a user
  • Contact a user via call, message, and meeting
  • Re-invite inactive users

Guest user visibility in your contacts

Free guest users have limitations on the contacts they can view from the account to which they’ve been added as a guest. They can only view the following contacts:
  • Other users in the account where you have been added as a guest user
  • Users who have added you as a guest in their company
  • Users from other companies who you are in a team conversation with

Searching for contacts

  1. Navigate to the Contacts menu via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Type the name, email, or phone number of the person you’re looking for in the search bar at upper right.
Searching contacts

Viewing the account type of your contacts

To see at a glance if a user is a co-worker, guest user, or an inactive user, you can do so via the gray user status badges next to each name in the list. 
 
Personal contacts will show the account type of the user and whether their account is a Vodafone Business with RingCentral, Google, or Microsoft Office 365 account.

If a contact has been added as a guest user, their status badge will read Guest.
Contact with Guest badge
If a user has either deactivated their account or has been invited but hasn't yet activated their account, their status badge will read Not activated.
Contact with Not Activated badge
Co-workers, in comparison, will not have a user status badge next to their name.

Performing actions on a user

In addition to displaying all your company contacts, the Contacts menu will also allow you to quickly perform actions such as contacting the user (through call, text message, message, etc.).
 
Note: Depending on your permissions or the permissions of the contact you’re attempting to interact with, some of the above actions may not be available to you.
  1. Navigate to Contacts via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Select All contacts, Company, Guests, Personal, Other, or Quick contacts from the left pane.
  3. Locate a contact using the search bar at the upper right or by scrolling through the list of contacts.
  4. Hover over a specific contact to reveal a set of icons at far right.
  1. Select one of the following icons to perform the associated action:
    • Message: Send a direct message.
    • Video: Start a meeting with that user.
    • Phone: Start a call with that user.
    • Open profile: View that user’s profile.
    • Invite by email: Send an invite via email to the user.
    • Get invite link: Get an invite link and send it to a user.
    • Delete: Delete the user on your contacts list. If you’re a user on the account, you have the option to delete users on your Personal contacts list. If you’re an admin, you can also delete users on your Guests contacts list.
Note: You may have to click the More three-dot icon at far right of the contact to see the other icons available for that user.

Re-inviting an inactive user

  1. Navigate to Contacts via the left nav bar.
  2. Hover over a user with a Not activated user status badge.
  3. Click the Re-invite button at the far right.
This invitation will prompt them to sign up in the app.

Applying Company Directory settings

Company Directory settings allow account admins to hide users and phone numbers on the online account and the app. 
 
Note: Hiding users from the Company Directory can only be enabled by Customer Support

Enabling Company Directory settings

If you are an admin, you can enable this feature in the online account.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.