Desktop & web

Scheduling a Video meeting in the app desktop and web

Last updated on January 19, 2022

Table of contents

You can easily schedule a Video meeting:
  • through the Schedule button in the Video interface,
Schedule button in Video interface
  •  via the Video actions button in any conversation, and
Video button in any conversation
  • via the New actions button.
Video button via the New actions button
To configure your video settings, visit Configuring Video settings in the app desktop and web.

Scheduling a meeting via the Video interface

  1. Navigate to Video via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. On the Meetings page, click the Schedule button at the top to open the Schedule a meeting window.
Click the Schedule button in the Meetings page
  1. Update the Meeting title or leave as default.
  2. Enter the meeting Date, Time, and Duration.
  3. If you’re scheduling on behalf of someone else, select that person’s name in the Schedule for dropdown.
  4. In Schedule using, select whether you’d like to send your invite using Outlook or Google calendar, or if you want to get the meeting info to share the invite via email, text, or other means.
  5. Check the Create team and invite members box if you’d like to create a new team with your meeting participants.
    1. The Team name auto-fills with the meeting title.
    2. Add members by entering the name or email address of the meeting participants (separated by semicolon) that you’d like to add to the team.
  6. Configure the remaining settings under the Meeting settings and Advanced settings dropdown.
Meeting settings and Advanced settings via Video button
  1. Click the Schedule button to open the meeting in the calendar app you specified in the Schedule using setting. If you choose a calendar, you may be required to sign in and authenticate that calendar if you have not yet synced it to the app.
  2. Configure your meeting invite, add your participants, and any additional info in the invite body.
  1. Send the meeting invite.

Scheduling a meeting in a conversation

  1. Navigate to Message via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Select a conversation from the list in the left panel.
  3. Click the Video actions drop-down button at the upper right-hand side of the center pane.
Video button in any conversation
  1. Click Schedule video meeting to open the Schedule video meeting with (name/team name) window.
  2. Update the Meeting title or leave it as default.
  3. Enter the Date, Time, and Duration.
  4. In Schedule using, select whether you’d like to send your invite using Outlook or Google calendar, or if you want to share the invite via email, text, or other means.
  5. In the Participants field, enter the name or email address of the member(s) (separated by a semicolon) from that conversation or click Add all (x members) on the upper right to invite all members of that conversation.
  6. Select your desired settings under Meeting settings and Advanced settings dropdown.
Meeting settings and Advanced settings via participant
  1. Click the Schedule button to open the meeting in the calendar app you specified in the Schedule using setting. You may be required to sign in and authenticate that calendar if you have not synced your calendar to the app.
  2. Configure your meeting invite, add more participants, and additional info in the email body.
  1. Send the meeting invite.

Configuring your Video meeting settings

  • Meeting title: Title of your meeting. This will be displayed during the meeting and be used for the recording's title. This will also be used for the meeting invite if selecting a calendar.
  • Date: Date on which you’d like to host the meeting.
  • Time: Time for which you’d like to host the meeting.
  • Duration: Meeting duration in hours and minutes.
  • Schedule for: Available if you are authorized to schedule a meeting on behalf of a co-worker. For more info, visit Setting delegates to schedule your Video meetings.
  • Schedule using: Select Outlook Calendar, Google Calendar, or Calendar app for the app you’d like to create the invite with, or select Meeting info to create a meeting ID and copy the meeting details to the clipboard. Choosing Meeting info allows you to still see and select specifics of the invite if needed. You can then paste the information anywhere and decide how to send the meeting invite.

    Note: If you have the Outlook app installed and use the desktop app, the dropdown will show two Outlook choices, one for Outlook web calendar and one for Outlook app calendar. Selecting Outlook web calendar opens the browser Outlook calendar. Selecting Outlook app calendar opens the Outlook app desktop interface. After scheduling your first meeting, the system defaults to the most recently selected option. 

    Note: If you did not copy the meeting info details, you will need to recreate the meeting.
  • Participants: If you’re scheduling a meeting from a conversation, this is where you select the people to invite.
  • Create team and invite members: Select if you want to create a new team with the meeting participants. This only appears if you’re scheduling a meeting via the Video interface.
  • Team name: Only available when you checked to Create team and invite members. The team name defaults with (your name)’s Vodafone Busines with RingCentral Video Meeting. You can opt to change the team name.
  • Members: Only available when you checked to Create a team. Enter the name or email address of the meeting participants (separated by a semicolon) that you’d like to add to this team.
  • Use Personal Meeting ID: [ID/name]: Select to schedule the meeting with your Personal Meeting ID or name instead of a newly generated meeting ID. Using the Personal Meeting ID or name will use the settings of that meeting and apply to all meetings using PMID.
  • Require password: Require a password to enter your meeting.
  • Participants can only join after me: Only allow participants to join once the host starts the meeting.
  • Enable waiting room: When enabled, the host controls when participants join the meeting. The host can set the waiting room to Everyone, Anyone outside my company, or Anyone not signed in.
  • Advanced settings: Click the arrow to expand the following advanced settings:
    • Only authenticated users can join: This allows only authenticated users to join your meeting. Options include Off, Signed in co-workers, and Signed in users.
    • Turn off camera for participants: This immediately turns off the camera for participants when they enter the meeting. Participants can still turn their cameras on at any point during the meeting.
    • Mute audio for participants: This mutes participants when they enter the meeting. Participants can still unmute their audio at any point during the meeting.
    • Only host & moderators can share screen: Enable this option to allow only you (as host) and moderators to share their screen in a meeting.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.