Desktop & web

Managing a team's profile in the app desktop and web

Last updated on January 26, 2022

Table of contents

Once you create a team, you and any other member added to the team are able to view that team’s profile. A team’s profile contains information such as a list of team members, a list of team admin settings, and more.

Viewing a team’s profile

  1. Navigate to Message via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Select a team from the conversation list.
  3. Click the More menu located at far right in the conversation header bar.
  4. Select the Open team profile option from the dropdown menu.
Open team profile

Understanding a team’s profile

Once you open a team’s profile, you’ll see the following:
  • The team name
  • The description given to the team (if one was provided)
  • Action buttons:
    • Message: Click this button to start a message with the team
    • Start video call: Click this button to start a meeting with the team
    • Start conference call: Click this button to start a conference call with the team
  • A Team members tab and a Team admin settings tab
Note: In order to start a video call or conference call, company admins must first enable phone features at the company account level.

Understanding the Team members section

Under the Team members tab, you’ll find a search bar at the top of the section you can use to search for or add team members. At far right of the search bar is an Add team members person icon button, which you can click to add new members to your team.

Note: There's a limit of 10,000 team members maximum allowed in one team (of which 200 can be guests). If a team's member count has reached the limit, users won't be able to add more people to the team.
 
Below the search bar is a list of all existing team members. Team admins will appear at the top of the list with an orange Admin badge beside the user’s name. 
 
When you hover over the name of a team member, a series of icons will appear at far right. Clicking any of these icons will perform an associated action. These actions will depend on the permissions of you or the other user.
Actions when hovering on a team member

Performing actions on a user via the team profile

  • Chat with a user via the Message chat bubble icon
  • Call a user via the Phone icon
  • Start a meeting with a user via the Video icon
  • Open a user’s profile via the Open profile option under the More menu
  • Remove a user from a team via the Remove from team option under the More menu (applicable only for team admins)
  • Make someone a team admin or revoke their team admin status via the Make/revoke team admin option under the More menu (applicable only for team admins)

Understanding the Team admin settings

Whether you’re a team admin or a regular team member, you will have access to the Team admin settings section in the team profile. Clicking on this tab will take you to a list of permissions that was configured upon the creation of the team. 
 
If you’re a team admin, you can navigate to this section and make changes to the team member permissions at any time. However, if you’re not a team admin, you can use this section to see what permissions the team admins have enabled for team members. 

Team admin settings

Team admin settings include the following:
  • Add team members: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to invite other members to the team. Guests won't be able to add team members even if the toggle is on.
  • Post messages: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to post messages in the team conversation.
  • @team mention: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to @team mention in their messages. To learn more, visit Using @mentions in the app desktop and web.
  • Pin posts: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to pin posts. Pinned messages will appear under the Pinned tab in the conversation details pane at far right.
If you’re an admin of the team, you’ll also find these two settings:
  • Archive a team: Select this option to archive a team. Archiving a team will remove it from your active conversations but not delete it permanently. Archived teams can always be reactivated via the Archived teams page in the Contacts menu. To learn more, visit Archiving a team in the app.
  • Delete a team: Select this option to delete the team permanently. To learn more, visit Deleting a team in the app.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.